Skip to content

Dennis Washington Leadership Graduate Scholarship

Scholarship Recipients Will Receive up to $120,000 for a Post-Graduate Degree

Endowed in 2008, Dennis Washington Leadership Graduate Scholarship, formerly the Dennis R. Washington Achievement Graduate Scholarship, provides financial assistance to State and National Horatio Alger Scholar Alumni who have exhibited leadership, integrity, entrepreneurial skills, and perseverance in overcoming personal adversity, and who aspire to pursue a graduate level education. The program awards scholarships annually to deserving National or State Horatio Alger Scholar Alumni who are working towards a post-graduate degree in an eligible field.

The Dennis Washington Leadership Graduate Scholarship application is open to Horatio Alger Scholars from September 15 – November 15 who will be enrolled in a graduate program for the following academic year. Scholars can log in to their Scholar page to find the application link.

Eligibility Requirements

  • In good standing with the Association as a State or National Horatio Alger Scholar
  • Have completed an undergraduate degree program with a minimum grade point average of 3.0
  • Accepted into a Master’s or Doctoral program at an accredited university located in the United States or Canada
  • Provide evidence of leadership skills and civic/community involvement
  • Submit academic record, test scores, and academic references
  • Write essay(s) on the reasons for pursuing a graduate degree and aspirations upon its completion, and how his/her life to date is contributing to the mission and goals of the Horatio Alger Association
  • Be a citizen of the United States of or Canada
  • Provide resume including employment history, academic achievements, and two professional/academic references
  • Applicants must be working toward a post-graduate degree in an eligible field

Graduate Scholarship Recipients

2022 Recipients:

  • Analese Bridges, Duke University, Law
  • Anthony Hall, Northern University, Energy Systems
  • Jamaica Murphy, Harvard University, Human Development, Learning, and Teaching
  • Christiana Oshotse, Harvard, Medicine and Business Administration
  • Funlola Otukoya, Cornell University, Business Administration
  • Benjamin Sorkin, Harvard, Education, Leadership, Organizations, and Entrepreneurship
  • Christina Tran, Kaiser Permanente School of Medicine
  • Lin Wei (Henry) Tung, Experimental Medicine

2021 Recipients:

  • Iman Baharmand, University of British Columbia, Medicine
  • Nicoly Santos, Harvard University, Law
  • Alisha Birk, Stanford University, Medicine
  • Catherine Cascavita, University of California Los Angeles, Medicine
  • Jessica Moore, New York University, Law

This scholarship reaches beyond Montana’s borders to the best and brightest Horatio Alger Scholars nationwide.

Mike Halligan

Executive Director, Dennis and Phyllis Washington Foundation